Quick Links

Quick Links

GSO Test

Child Development

Course Content          Web Links

Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development is designed to develop student’s knowledge and skills by studying a range of topics and undertaking practical tasks.

The course consists of three units: one examined and two internally assessed and externally moderated, comprising 50% for the exam and 25% for the other two units.

For unit one students will develop knowledge and understanding of:

  • Reproduction
  • Parental responsibility
  • Antenatal care,
  • Birth
  • Postnatal care
  • Conditions for development
  • Childhood illnesses and child safety

In unit 2 students study and complete controlled assessments on:

  • The equipment needs of babies and young children, here an understanding is gained of the factors parents need to consider when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs.
  • Nutrition and hygiene practices.


Unit 3 is the child study controlled assessment – in this knowledge will be gained about children under the age of five to research, plan and then carry out activities with a child during practical observation sessions.

Exam board -  OCR


The Cambridge National Level 1/2 results are awarded on the following scale:

GCSE Level

Cambridge National Level


Distinction* at Level 2 (*2)


Distinction at Level 2 (D2)


Merit at Level 2 (M2)


Pass at Level 2 (P2)


Distinction at Level 1 (D1)


Merit at Level 1 (M1)


Pass at Level 1 (P1)


This qualification is seen as progression to A level, apprenticeships and Further Education so will benefit anyone who would like a career in childcare, nursing, teaching and the caring profession as well as give parenting skills for future use!

Useful Web Links

OCR Cambridge Nationals web site pages for Child Development 1/2